• Twenty-two to Receive Distinguished College Administrator Awards

    Clinton Community College has announced that Eastern Associate Director of Business Services Justin Sampson has been selected as a 2024 Distinguished College Administrator by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Sampson is one of just 22 administrators nationwide selected for the award. He will be formally recognized during the Phi Theta Kappa Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida in April.
    Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. The Distinguished College Administrator Award is given to college vice presidents, deans or leaders other than college presidents/CEOs serving in an administrative capacity who have demonstrated a strong level of support for Phi Theta Kappa during their tenure.  Nominees should have served in their position for at least five years.
    Clinton Community College President Dr. Brian Kelly commented, “Justin is an administrator with both the heart and mind to serve students in a compassionate and effective way.  He is a true partner in the success of our students.”
    Justin Sampson has served at Clinton Community College, one of the Eastern Iowa Community Colleges, since 2015.  He is a 2003 CCC graduate, earned his Bachelor’s Degree from Ashford University, and completed a Master’s degree from Iowa State University in 2020.  During his tenure at CCC, Sampson has served as the campus Bursar, handling incoming funds and managing student accounts.  In his current role, he oversees all campus business offices.  He works with students as they navigate college finances.  Samson serves on the Paul B. Sharar Foundation Scholarship Committee, completed the EICC Diversity Academy, and is a graduate of the Iowa State University program LINC – Leadership Institute for a New Century.  In the community, Sampson serves as a MENtor for United Way, is a graduate of the Grow Clinton Leadership Institute, and coaches youth basketball. 
    Of this recognition, Sampson stated, “I have seen the value of Phi Theta Kappa as I work with students to achieve their goals.  PTK is a tremendous asset to build leadership skills.  Through this honor society, students are able to get valuable experience at Clinton Community College that help them throughout their lives.  I am honored to receive this award.”
    The award recognizes college administrators working directly with student leaders to solve problems on campus and in their communities. They have taken an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders.
    “These college administrators are beloved on campus—they know students by name and by circumstance,” said Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “This award is special because it comes directly from the students, and it is evidence of the gratitude they feel for the support for them and students like them.”

    Photo - Justin Sampson

    Honorees were selected from among thousands of college administrators eligible to receive this award.
    The 2024 recipients are:
    Dr. Chuck Argo
    National Park College
    Jennifer Baker
    Delaware Technical Community College
    Sherry Bellmon
    Hinds Community College
    Dr. Todd Brand
    Ashland Community & Technical College
    Christina Brandon
    Western Iowa Technical Community College
    Dawn Brunson
    Passaic County Community College
    New Jersey
    Cherie Colin
    Skyline College
    Dr. Lee Conerly
    Coastal Alabama Community College
    Dr. Susan Graybeal
    Northeast State Community College
    Dr. Lawrence Hlavenka
    Bergen Community College
    New Jersey
    Dr. Mary Holloway
    Midlands Technical College
    South Carolina
    Dr. Lewis Kahler
    Mohawk Valley Community College
    New York
    James Millard
    Craven Community College
    North Carolina
    Dr. Tampa Nannen
    Tyler Junior College
    Dr. Brandon Nichols
    Olive-Harvey College
    Lenzy M. Reid, III
    Athens Technical College
    Justin Sampson
    Clinton Community College
    Michelle Sekul
    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
    Ashley VanHeest
    Jackson College
    Dr. Jenny Williams
    Spartanburg Community College
    South Carolina
    Dr. Martin Wolfger
    Ivy Tech Community College
    Dr. Peter "Tony" Zitko
    Solano Community College